Caitlin! in Yilan.

I’ve avoided this post.

I left Taiwan September 1, and it’s now November. Being back for two full months: you’d think I’d have the hang of it by now. For the most part, I guess I do, but there are times when I’ll suddenly get a craving for food from a Hsinchu restaurant. Or I’ll miss my friends and turn to Facebook, instead of my phone, to check in on them.

After spending a lot of time complaining about Taiwan and having my battles with my life there, I’m happy to say I look back on my two years there fondly. Sure, I remember the frustrations, the pain of being separated from those near to my heart. More, though, I remember the people, the experiences, and the joys that helped make me the me I am now.

Taiwan, I love you. Thank you. I’ll be back to visit soon.

I guess this means it’s really over.

7 comments

    1. I moved back to the States September 1, and am not nearly as inspired by Dallas as I was by Taiwan. I suppose that’s a bit selfish to say, but it’s where my mind has been.

      I’m hoping to have more travel adventures later this year, but I won’t know until later if that’s really going to happen.

      In the meantime, how are you?

      1. Dallas, and not Austin? What are you up to these days?

        I’ve been alright. Took a trip to India and then switched jobs; new workplace has been keeping me busy.

        1. Dallas is where the job is. My job search was rough, and even now I’m struggling. I do marketing and accounts receivable for a company here while dreaming of more traveling.

          How was India?

          1. India was interesting, as ever. Was in Delhi for a friend’s wedding, but also made a trip to Agra and Fatehpur Sikri to take in some history. Lots of photo opportunities there, that’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

